Baby, it’s cold outside!

By the end of the week here in Searcy, the temperature is supposed to dip down into the single digits.  That might not be cold for a Canadian, but it’s cold enough for me!  For that matter, 22 degrees–the current temp outside–is cold enough for me.  For that matter…well, you get the picture.

I’m not a big fan of having to scrape the ice off my car windows.  I like a little snow now and then, but I’d rather not have sub-freezing temperatures for long stretches at a time.  There’s a difference between enjoying the cold when you open the freezer to grab the bucket of ice cream and crawling into the freezer for a little nap.  But whom am I to complain?

It could be worse, right?  It’s not like I’m living on the streets.

But I wonder what that is like.  I try to imagine how incredibly lonely and frightening it must be to have no sense of security.  How does it feel to worry about freezing to death?  We get cranky if the temperature insight the house drops below 65.  I guess that means we’re spoiled.  But I hope not.  Spoiled is such a negative, final, can’t-ever-be-good-again kind of term.  I don’t think we’re bad people because we have shelter and security.  I’m not into self-mutilation or asceticism.  But I think we should be sober about our blessings.

By that, I mean we shouldn’t be arrogant and think that we have things because we’re better or brighter than other people.  Maybe intellect and opportunity play a part, but what if we lost our job?  What if someone in the family got sick and the medical bills piled up?  What if some other unforeseen tragedy struck us and we ended up out in the street?

This “what if” game isn’t one we play for fun, but it should be a question we ask if we want to live less selfishly.  I wish there was a safe, easy, productive way for well-meaning people to help bring people in out of the cold.  Maybe there is and I just haven’t found it yet.  Or maybe I’m too hung up on it being safe and easy.  I don’t know.  But this is something I’m wrestling with, and I’d love to hear your opinion.

What can we do to provide safety and shelter to those living out in the cold?  Leave me a comment, and let’s work together to make a difference.

And don’t forget to thank God for your blessings.

About PatrickBarber

Preaching Minister East Point Church of Christ Wichita, Kansas
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

