Watching the Kids

Today was a great day.  I was able to take some time away from the office and relax with my family.  We took a little trip and spent the afternoon at a state park about an hour and a half from our home.  We hadn’t been there before, but we enjoyed hiking on a trail, throwing rocks in the lake, and playing on the playground.  It was a lot of fun for all of us.

It was also fun just watching the kids.  They are 5, 4, and 2 now, so there is rarely an idle moment.  As they have grown a little older, I’m noticing more and more that they do the things we do and say the things we say.  Even their expressions mimic mine and my wife’s.  For some reason, I love this.  Maybe all parents love it.

I’ve been wondering why this mimicry makes us feel good, and I’m not sure that I have a complete answer for that.  Maybe its because we love ourselves and like to see ourselves reflected in a child’s life.  Maybe its because we like to be liked, and imitation is the highest form of flattery–or so we’ve been told.  Or maybe its because we see ourselves in these little ones and believe that we will live on through their lives in some way.  We hope that they will experience some of the good things we may have missed.  We want them to avoid our mistakes while sharing in our conquests.  We do want them to be like us–but only in the good things.

I suppose God watches us in much the same way.  He sees how we treat other people.  He (like my kids) notices how we respond to obnoxious drivers.  He can see our expressions, read our body language, hear our words, even interpret our hearts, and I wonder how He feels about it all.  Is He happy with us?  Are we living in ways that live up to His hopes and dreams for our lives?  Sometimes.  Sometimes not.  But He still watches and encourages and gives us every opportunity to grow and succeed.

May God give me the wisdom and selflessness to do the same for the three wonderful children He has given to me.

About PatrickBarber

Preaching Minister East Point Church of Christ Wichita, Kansas
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

