Parable of the Rich Fool

The parables of Jesus are tough.  Tough to interpret.  Tougher to apply.  And this Sunday (July 22, 2012) at East Point Church of Christ in Wichita, Kansas, we’ve got a hard one to hear.  It’s the familiar story Jesus tells about a rich farmer who had such a great harvest that he decided to tear down his barns and build bigger barns so that he might live in luxury for many years to come.  Luke records the parable in Luke 12:13-21.

I’ll preach it, but I’m not sure that I want to.  I’m not sure that I’m fit to preach it.  I think about my life and my desires, and I’m afraid Jesus is talking directly to me with this parable.

Am I rich?  Do I accumulate luxuries?  Well, maybe not in comparison to some.  But in comparison to most?  Well, yes, compared to most people in the world I am exceedingly rich.  And to be honest, I’d like to have more.  But this parable warns me that a constant hunger for more can be deadly if, that is, we hunger for the wrong things.

Does this hit home for anyone else?  Anybody else struggle with the desire to always have more?  If so, then go ahead and read Jesus’ teachings for yourself.  Read his parable in Luke 12 and the teachings that follow it.  There’s a lot to digest there.  It gives me a lot to pray about and think about–and to preach about.

If you’re in the Wichita area Sunday morning, I hope you’ll come and worship God with us at East Point as we challenge ourselves to seek his kingdom and his righteousness.  May the Holy Spirit convict us and lead us into real, abundant life.

God bless.  See you Sunday!

About PatrickBarber

Preaching Minister East Point Church of Christ Wichita, Kansas
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

