Listening for Laughter

I’m the kind of guy who likes depth and meat and serious things.  I’ve often found myself rolling my eyes (at least mentally) at what I would call “fluff” masquerading as theology.  You know, the touchy-feely, warm and fuzzy, oh-so-cute and oh-so-annoying stuff.  No offense if that’s what you like; it’s just not me.  At least, it’s not where I’m comfortable.  But what if God is there?

One of the real hard things to deal with in our lives of faith is an awareness that while God is like us in many ways, there are at least as many ways in which he’s different.  And I don’t just mean the differences between deity and me.  I mean the differences between me and so many others who are so unlike me and yet are created in the very same image of God.

So, I’m trying new things on to see how they fit.  Some will.  Some won’t.  And just maybe some are ones I need to grow into. 

I’m three days into a personal challenge to go a full week without uttering one single complaint.  So far, so good.  And that’s pretty impressive for me.  I’m good at finding fault.  I notice imperfections.  So complaining is an easy thing for me.  The blessing of positivity, however, has been remarkable, and so I’m excited to see how long this streak can last.

But I’m also trying something else–something more fluffy and exotic.  I’m taking more time to think creatively about God.  I’m taking time–knowing full well that this is a world full of sadness, disease, and wickedness–to listen for laughter amidst the chaos.  I have close friends in the midst of grief, relationship decay, barrenness, spitefulness, even faithlessness.  When I think of all the sin and hurt and disbelief even amongst those I know and love, I often get such a heavy feeling of burden, knowing that there are so many things I cannot fix.  And so I’m learning how to stop and breathe and listen for hope.  Listen for peace.  Listen for healing.  Listen for life.  Listen for laughter amidst the chaos.  Because when I hear it I believe again with all my being that God has something better in mind than this.Image

 

 

About PatrickBarber

Preaching Minister East Point Church of Christ Wichita, Kansas
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

