With God in the Dark

Light-House-in-Darkness-591x443I’m a disciple of Jesus who gets to spend every day doing ministry, and I know how blessed I am to have this kind of life.  Truthfully, every Christian, every disciple of Jesus gets to minister within their own sphere every day.  We all have different parts to play, but sometimes we forget how important we are.

Part of my ministry involves listening to people who feel lost, alone, or broken.  I honestly don’t enjoy counseling, but it’s a significant part of my pastoral ministry, and it’s something I cherish.  Really, I understand how odd and dissonant that sounds.  I don’t enjoy it, but I do cherish it?  I don’t enjoy hearing and seeing someone who is hurt and scrambling for any hint of hope, because I don’t know how to love people without feeling the weight of their pain.  There’s no pleasure at all in watching someone drown in their grief or burn his life down in anger.  I hate that part of it.  But I do it for the same reason others have been there for me in my darker times:  I know that God is fighting for us.

The God of the Bible not only sees us and hears us and understands us, but he also walks with us and empathizes with us.  That’s all true, but it still makes him sound like a spectator.  He is much more than that.  He is a warrior.  He is a healer.  He is a counselor.  He is a provider.  He is a redeemer.  He is a savior.  He is the culmination of every good thing that we’ve ever needed and more.  And he loves you, and he loves me, like he loved his one and only Son.  We both know what that means.

“In him was life, and the life was the light of all humanity.  The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it” (John 1:4, 5). 

About PatrickBarber

Preaching Minister East Point Church of Christ Wichita, Kansas
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

